Something that my mamma never taught me….Liquid Laundry Soap DIY

I have never learned to make my own laundry detergent. And why would I when you can go to any convenience store or any grocery store and just buy it? Convenience is the answer, somewhere at some point time became to precious to waste on making stuff.

This recipe is so simple:

  • 1 CUP BORAX
  • 1 CUP WASHING SODA (not baking soda- there is a difference)
  • 1 BAR OF SOAP (apparently any type you wish)
  • 2 GALLONS OF WATER
  • Grater
  • Empty  2 X Gallon/4 littre Jugs
  • funnel
  • large spoon
Grate the bar of soap into a large pot, preferably one that will hold 2 Gallons of liquid. Cook grated soap, with 1 gallon of the water until the soap dissolves. I brought the water slowly to a boil kept an eye on it and once it reached the boil removed from heat so that it would not boil over. Add the washing soda and the borax and again cook until dissolved. Remove from heat, allow to cool, add in the 2nd gallon of water. Then divide into gallon jugs. Use as you would laundry soap.
* Erin from Why Not Sew? uses 1/2  cup per load. And estimates that it costs her $6 for 576 loads.
In the long run you save time because you no longer have to waste time earning $$$ to pay for your laundry detergent. So much for convenience.
If your detergent has coagulated too much try using less soap or adding a bit more water to get a pourable consistency.
16 thoughts on “Something that my mamma never taught me….Liquid Laundry Soap DIY

  1. Pingback: Handmade Home: In the Laundry Room | Today's Handmade. Handmade Life Making a LIving

    • Hi,

      i have heard that it does though I don’t have one… I not a scent person so I haven’t tried lavender. My experience is if I need to boost the whiteness I add a couple tablespoons of borax right at the beginning of a load. Other than that I have noticed that the smell from my dishclothes after they have gone through is completely gone!.

    • I only have a top loading machine and have not tried it but talked to others that used similar recipes that had success with it. I wonder if you could scale the recipe down (so you don’t have gallons and gallons of it) and try it out… I would love to know! I think it being liquid would make it easier. Cheers & thank you for stopping by!

  2. I’ve been using this for many years in my front-loading “he” washer and it’s just fine. I don’t know if it makes a difference, but for the bar of soap, I use a laundry bar called Zote. (Which I get at Walgreens) I also only make 1/2 of this batch amount at a time because I don’t have room to store it.

Leave a Reply

