Sketchbook & Creative Process

Walking through creative process.

As many of you know my family and I went to Palm Springs at the beginning of the month. My husband works and I catch up on my vitamin D. I spent a few days sitting by the pool with my tots lazing about.

While they played I drew, and one of the pictures was this.

Which then later inspired me to take this photo.

At Home, still high from sunshine and the outdoors I set to work in my sketchbook. Yes the one I started at the beginning of the year. I am still working in it most days!

First rough drawing in my sketchbook.

The sketch and colour blocking on canvas, I used masking fluid for large parts of it…

Then I started to play around with how I wanted the water to look. Colour, line etc. As you can see I went for a very illustrated look.

Before glazing… this photo came out very sky blue & intense.

Stay Tuned, I am going to scan the final painting! To get the true blue-ness of the water!

How Do you Create, what is your Process?

PS if anyone one has tips on how to do this, that would be great… The canvas is too big to fit on my scanner bed, but I may try anyway…

One thought on “Sketchbook & Creative Process

  1. I like how you shared your process and love the direction you are going with it. You can scan the painting in several pieces, then put them together in Photoshop. Or you can make sure that your camera is set to the highest resolution and take a picture of it outside on an overcast day without the flash on. Let me know if you need help, I’d be happy to assist 🙂

Leave a Reply

