What do National Cherry Jubilee Day & Quinoa have in common?

Who knew it was national Cherry Jubilee Day (make sure you check out this video)?  Fun wasn’t it?  I don’t have any brandy or rum to burn but instead I have this:

Dried Cherry Quinoa Pilaf

Cherry Quinoa pilaf

This is a rough recipe that came about because I was craving risotto.  However  when I checked my cupboards I was fresh out of arborio rice. Instead I had a box of quinoa and some other things in my fridge that needed using up. (Better to use up leftovers).

  • 3 cups cooked Quinoa
  • 3 cups Collard Greens-  about 1 cup parboiled 2-3 mins, drained & chopped.
  • diced 1/2 onion
  • 4-5 sliced mushrooms
  • 2 garlic cloves, sliced
  • whole lemon for zest & juice
  • salt & pepper
  • olive oil
  • chopped dried cherries
  • roasted cashews

Pre make your quinoa & par boil your greens. Sautee onion, garlic and mushrooms  in a couple tbsps of olive oil. Add chopped greens, stir and break up any large clumps from squeezing the liquid out. Then add lemon zest, dried cherries & quinoa. Stir to mix everything and season to taste with salt & pepper. Top with roughly chopped roasted cashews.

Serves 2 as a main and 4 as a side.

I used my Modern Cherry Pie Bistro Apron as a back drop for this dish, please enjoy!

Leave a Reply

