Me as A Housewife.

I have been called a domestic engineer, creative household CEO, boss, and a few other names probably not worth repeating, but the one name, what my primary role is, I usually shy away from. That is Housewife. Any why is that? I try on seamstress, Apronista (my current favourite), hipster homemaker, artist and maker. I am sometimes one or more of these things combined but always at the heart of it I am a Homemaker and a Housewife.

The Young Housewife

At ten AM the young housewifemoves about in negligee behind
the wooden walls of her husband’s house.

I pass solitary in my car.

Then again she comes to the curb
to call the ice-man, fish-man, and stands
shy, uncorseted, tucking in
stray ends of hair, and I compare her
to a fallen leaf.

The noiseless wheels of my car
rush with a crackling sound over
dried leaves as I bow and pass smiling.

William Carlos Williams
Maybe this isn’t what William Carlos Williams had in mind, but I choose to be a housewife, this is who I am this is my number one job…
I had to go back to 2009  to find a “Housewife” photo, and to be honest there isn’t very many. I shy away from the camera, always behind the scenes, doing other stuff, the one with the camera, feeding children, organizing bath time, preparing school lunches doing laundry and am quite often if I am honest, critical or embarrassed about my role.
I am a stay at home mum, I cook, I clean, I wipe snotty noses, I run a small business, I do laundry, run errands… this is who I am. I am A Housewife.
Are you a homemaker, a housewife/husband? Even if you are not, have you felt that you have had to duck a certain role, worried that it would define you? I love comments, please share your experience.
3 thoughts on “Me as A Housewife.

  1. cheers @Molly, it is a term that I have had to come to grips with, but I realize that being a housewife isn’t my only role…

    I love William Carlos Williams.. I didn’t even know about this poem, I was looking for ‘this is just to say’.

  2. Pingback: Why Homemaker why not Housewife ? | Pins N Ashes

Leave a Reply

