I repeat I am not a Vegan… a meatless monday journey.

I am not a vegan (even though my name rhymes with vegan- Megan- you get it). I have been doing Vegan recipes for meatless monday (and my husband didn’t even notice!). I eat a mostly vegetarian diet so eating a meatless meal every Monday was not that much of a challenge. So I decided to amp it up by making my meals vegan.. Coupled with the fact that we belong to a local CSA I have no excuse to make my meals as veggie centric as possible. However there are times when I am overwhelmed by Kale (insert any veg when in season) and during that time I turn to Mark BIttman and How to cook everything Vegetarian. This is not a vegan cookbook, but there are so many options and really making slight substitutions is easy.

20130622-213752.jpg
I have been cooking from his books for years so I am pretty confident about my ability to change things and add my own twists. Such as (also in my CSA) garlic scapes and changing the serving size…

20130622-213605.jpg

Here is an adaptation of Mark Bittman’s ….
Rolled Kale with Tofu and fermented Black Beans
6 lg Kale Leaves
1/2 lb Tofu pressed & pan fried.
2 Tbsp neutral oil (I used some to fry my tofu first).
3 garlic scapes.
Salt & freshly ground pepper.
1/4 cup mirin
1 chopped tomato
1/4 cup Fermented black beans
1/4 cup boiling water to hydrate beans.
1/2 large onion.

For garnish

Soy sauce
Sesame Seed oil
*Spicy Sriracha peas, crushed up!

First things first press your tofu and hydrate your black beans… Then cut and prepare all your vegetables. For the kale leaves cut each half leaf off the stem, save the stems. Chop the stems.
Chop your garlic scapes and onion.

In a deep skillet with a lid cook the kale stem, garlic scapes and onion with 1 Tbsp of the oil (use a pinch more if you need- there is no other fat in this recipe), salt & pepper on medium high heat. Until soft for about 5 mins, stir occasionally.

In a separate pan fry your tofu in another 1Tbsp of oil on medium high heat. About 3 mins. I like to cut mine into slabs then in half so I have neat little squares.
you may have to pre cook your tofu if time is of the essence Once cooked allow to cool for a minute or two, then cut into strips.

As your stems, scapes and onion are finishing off, wrap the tofu in the kale leaves. Making little packets. I thought this was going to take a long time so I pre cooked my tofu earlier in the day, it took me about 30 secs. It also won’t hurt to take the stems, scapes and onion off the heat for a minute while you finish this. Add your packets to the dish in a single layer.

20130622-213951.jpg

On medium high heat pour the mirin, tomatoes, beans (and some of their liquid) over the packets, when they start to boil cover and reduce the heat to a simmer. Cook undisturbed for 10 mins.

Serve over rice with soy sauce and sesame seed oil and topped with crushed Sriracha Peas

For the original recipe with feta and olive oil look for <a href="http://

20130622-213951.jpg“>How to cook everything Vegetarian… You will not be disappointed!

PS, my formatting is a little wonky, my computer is in the shop and I am getting use to doing things on my iPad… Any tips?

20130622-214627.jpg

2 thoughts on “I repeat I am not a Vegan… a meatless monday journey.

Leave a Reply

