What I want to be when I grow up!

Have you ever had an Ah Ha moment, when it all becomes clear? When everything you have been doing falls into place and you know exactly what it is that you should be doing? I had one of those last week and finally figured out what I wan to be when I grow up…. Granted it took me nearly 40 yrs and several attempts but it all became clear one day last week.

printed yard of fabric

hand printed yard of fabric

It was a regular day, just like any other, kids off to school, meals to plan, laundry to do… And in a few quiet moments of just doodling and experiment I looked at all the tools, supplies, books and general things I have acquired and thought, what does all of this mean? If actions define you, then who am I? Well I am an artist for one, and a designer for another…and both of those things together can be something pretty great. What do I do with all the things I’ve acquired? Sew, paint, draw, cook (yes cook, I plan meals around colour, texture & vibrancy), for me they all have a visual intensity that is translatable. Translatable into Surface Design… Think fabrics, wall paper, home decor, and a myriad of other common everyday objects.

stencil freezer paper

carving block print

I have been toying with the idea of making my own surfaces since I was kid ( I used to hand paint shirts, and jackets to sell for spending money) and increasingly doing more and more surface and textural pieces and designs and for the last year even taking specialized workshops on Surface Design in illustrator, to printmaking by hand, to fabric dying and batik. Watching this path you would think I actually set out to do this but I didn’t. Don’t get me wrong it wasn’t a happy accident either, there were several points that I could have come to this realization sooner, but I am glad for now I finally have…

The Ginny Full Apron!

The Ginny Full Apron!

What does that mean for my aprons? Well, pretty much I will be selling them and not making anymore (I will still do the odd custom order for special occasions, can’t keep me permanently away from my bias tape & sewing machine). They are on sale for up to 25% off, the prices have already been marked down in my A Kitschy Kitchen etsy shop. Please stop by, check them out, with all the holiday feasting around the corner this is a cute way to stay clean and look fabulous for entertaining…

Have you had an Eureka moment?

PS, if you live in the Pacific Northwest, Seattle, Bellingham Washington area, I am also selling my ceramics goods… Olympic Gas kiln, test kiln, wall mounted extruder, glaze materials, triple beam scale & more!!! Contact me and I can give you a list. I’d like to sell them all together, but am willing to break them into the individual component! Akitschykitchen@gmail.com

gas kiln

olympic gas kiln

3 thoughts on “What I want to be when I grow up!

  1. Pingback: A Kitschy Kitchen Cyber Monday Holiday Sale | A Kitschy Kitchen

Leave a Reply

