Kale plus Srircha = Yummy

Yup I said it, Kale and Sriracha = Yummy… Two of my favourite things combined to make a delicious healthy (highly addictive) snack.

kale sriracha chipsThis is what happens when I get a food craving while learning about design, pattern and illustrator…. silly little drawings and quirky ideas. I think I will keep this ‘idea’ a float and come back to it when I have honed my skills… Anyway… For an actual ‘good’ drawing of Rooster Sauce you can always check out my print on etsy– the limited editions are counting down…

and to make your own Kale Chips

  • Bunch of Kale
  • Olive Oil
  • Sriracha
  • corse Sea Salt
  • Baking Sheets

Preheat Oven to 300°. Clean and Dry a head of Kale, then shred leaves from stem. Discard the stems or keep for other meals. Place them in a bowl, you may have to do it in two batches. Use about 1 Tbsp of olive oil per bowl and about 1 (or more) Tbsp of Sriracha (how hot do you wanna go?) per batch. Coat and massage the leaves… yes your hands are going to get dirty, then spread them out on a baking sheet, you may need two. Sprinkle lightly with corse sea salt. Bake for 8-10 mins, check, rotate or turn leaves and sheets… Do this a few more times until they are dry and crispy… (mine usually take about 30-35 minutes) then snack away…  

Hope you like them…

*disclaimer, this is not my method, there are tonnes of similar recipes all over the internet using just olive oil & salt, or different additives. If you have a favourite topping let me know.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

