Is it Cocktail Time yet?

It’s Friday, it is beautiful, is it cocktail time yet? Because the latest apron is inspired after my favorite beverage, gin, I got obsessed with finding a a classic gin based cocktail.

full kitchen apronWhat I came up with was the Bee’s Knees, a prohibition era libation. Give me the Bee’s Knees was an expression used to mean, give me the good stuff.

bees knees

The Bee’s Knees with a lavender Twist

  1. 2.5 oz of your favorite gin
  2. 3/4 oz honey infused with lavender
  3. 3/4 oz lemon juice
  4. Dried Lavender sprigs

First infuse lavender and Honey… Bring to the boil 1/8 cup water,  Dried Lavender and steep for a long as possible (the longer the better). Add 1/4 cup of honey and stir well. Allow to cool.

Combine honey, lemon juice and Gin in a cocktail shaker, shake and pour…

Most of the recipes I found only called for  2 oz of gin, but I found the cocktail to be on the sweet side the first time I made it so I added a splash more gin and it was perfect!

To make it with out the lavender skip the steeping part and just use honey. I just wanted to use it because I was inspired by the lavender hues in my apron.

You can shop for the Bee’s Knees Apron in the A Kitschy Kitchen shop! And while you are there check out some of the other fab apronsaccessories, Mother’s Day is right around the corner.

Leave a comment